THE VILLAGE INSTITUTE
The institute was built by the Rev Francis Paget rector
of Elford 1835 to 1882 and others as a thanks-offering when Elford avoided an epidemic.
The Rev Paget taught the children of the village there
and his wife ran a dispensary for the village.
A later vicar ran a fund raising campain including a vist
from Lord Kichener of Khartoum to extend the institute as a village hall this drew opposition from some who felt that it would
give the church jurisdiction over the hall they won the day and the village hall was built where it stands today but the feud
went on and a number of people did not enter the village hall for a few years.