Make your own free website on Tripod.com

Elford

Home | Floods | Floods Part 2 | Introduction | Mary Dyott's Speech | We Will Remember Them | The Hall | Hall Gardens | The Church | Village Tour | The School | The Playground | Local History | Local Heritage | Links to other Websites | Contact Us

The Mill

AS A PAPER MILL(circa 1104) THIS WAS PROBABLY THE OLDEST INDUSTRY IN THE VILLAGE
***
The picture below shows Mill House and Paper Mill as seen from the Gore (picture courtesy Mr Ken Elson)
MILL HOUSE AND PAPER MILL
millhousepmill.jpg
AS SEEN FROM THE GORE
Mill house was the home of Robert Bage in the latter part of the 18th century who owned the paper mill ajacent to mill house he wrote six novels three of which were included in Sir Walter Scotts list of the fifty best novels of the time.
The mill site has a long history in Birmingham Central Library there is a manuscript which is a grant from Leouca, Lady of Elleford to the monks at Mirau(Merevale Warwickshire) of the mill about 1140A.D.
This manuscript is the oldest document held by the library.
DEMOLITION OF THE COTTAGES NEXT TO MILL HOUSE
ke1.jpg
These could have been the old paper mill

1793 Robert BAGE, paper maker, of Elford (see below), and George Webb, paper maker, of Ridware, insured their utensils and stock in their water mill at Shugborough and in their drying house near. Only one reference to Robert BAGE at this mill has been found. The paper mill was in the hands of George Webb after 1800.

Elford Mill

Circa 1751 Robert BAGE (the famous novelist, born 29 th Feb. 1728) settled at Elford and conducted (constructed or ran?) a paper mill.

In 1790 Robert BAGE, miller, of Elford, insured the paper and corn mill.

In 1793 he was described as a paper maker, of Elford. It is possible that the Elford Paper Mill was in his hands until just after 1800. He died 1st Sept 1801 at Tamworth.

He had three sons, Charles, Edward and John.